Time is Flying

Wow! I still can’t believe it’s been over 3 months since I was crowned America’s National Teenager. I apologize for not posting as much as I’d like. With moving in to college, getting through my first couple of college exams, trying to decide what I want to do with my life, helping with my sister’s wedding, traveling, AND volunteering, I’ve had my hands a tad full!

To catch all of you up, here is just a brief overview of the past couple of months!

Since being crowned, I have been able to continue my environmental presentations for elementary schools, youth, and other community

Environmental Presentation at Williams Elementary

organizations. It makes me feel so amazing that I can make a difference by simply teaching the next generation about what they can do to help our planet. It has been really interesting to witness the faces of each of the kids I talk to when they realize that they really CAN do something. That one moment where everything clicks for them reminds me every single time that I am truly making a difference in the health of our earth and future generations.

This past September, I was also invited to speak at the Florida Arthritis Foundation’s Annual Conference. This organization is so close to my heart and IFlorida Arthritis Foundation Annual Meeting and some of the youth involved feel so honored to be a part of what this organization is doing for kids living with Juvenile Arthritis. Not only have I met families affected by Juvenile Arthritis but also had the chance to encourage kids living with this disease by talking to them and showing them that you can control how you use your gifts, even if you can’t control your arthritis. This coming weekend, I will be participating in an Arthritis Connect Day, a day where families can come together and develop a support network for them and their children.

In addition to all of this, I have done more flying and traveling in the past 3 months then I think I have in the past 5 years! In September, I flew to San Deigo to participate in a beach cleanup and city beautification. I loved being on the west

Time to "get dirty" and help clean San Diego's beaches!

coast. The weather, the people, and the landscape completely took my breath away. Promoting ANTSO also brought me to Nashville, where I was able to participate in Boot Camp for Beauty Queens with the amazing motivational speaker, Dale Smith Thomas. This was a once in a lifetime experience jam packed into one weekend. Not only did I learn more about the tools I need to succeed in the pageant world but also in life. The skills I took away from this one weekend are things that some people never get a hold of and I feel very fortunate for that. As a side note, you can visit Dale’s website here┬áto learn more about her and Boot Camp for Beauty Queens.

Whew! And that’s just the brief summary! I am so grateful for this opportunity that I have to make a difference in many ways. Not only can I spread awareness about the things I am passionate about but also break this stereotype that people have about pageants. If you haven’t gotten to know the America’s National Teenager system, I highly encourage you to visit our website and ask me questions. It’s such an awesome organization that is giving girls like me the opportunity to do big things.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Halloween weekend!

Until next time,

Sami :)

One response to “Time is Flying

  1. You inspire me every single day!

Leave a Reply

